Our Members

Members and Associate Members of the Council affirm our basis and purpose.  

  • The basis of the Council: The Canadian Council of Churches is a community of churches which confess the Lord Jesus Christ as God and Saviour according to the Scriptures and therefore seek to fulfil together their common calling to the glory of one God, Father, Son and Holy Spirit, and also other churches which affirm the same faith but which do not make doctrinal confessions.

  • The purpose the Council is to serve God’s mission in the world, to give expression to the unity which is offered to the world through Jesus Christ, to witness to the continuing renewal of the Church by the Holy Spirit, to promote the growth of ecumenical and missionary obedience among all Christians, and to facilitate common action by the member churches.  

Members of The Canadian Council of Churches

Associate Members

  • British Methodist Episcopal Church of Canada
  • Polish National Catholic Church

Associate Membership applies to churches whose membership is less than the minimum requirement, or those wishing an interim association with the Council. Associate membership is intended to provide the opportunity for a non-member church to enter into a working relationship with the Council with a view to deepening and furthering the ecumenical movement in Canada.  


  • Canadian Baptist Ministries
  • The Canadian Bible Society
  • Citizens for Public Justice
  • Friendship Ministries Canada
  • The Gideons International in Canada
  • Prairie Centre for Ecumenism
  • A Rocha Canada
  • Women’s Inter-Church Council of Canada
  • The Yonge Street Mission

Our affiliates are organizations, boards, or agencies that have been recognized by the Governing Board as being maintained for distinctly Christian purposes. Affiliates are invited to participate in the work of the commissions or committees of the Council.  Affiliates are invited to attend Governing Board meetings and participate in the work of the commissions and committees of the Council.

Observer Churches

  • The Christian and Missionary Alliance in Canada (2012)
  • Pentecostal Assemblies of Canada (2012)
  • Canadian Baptists of Atlantic Canada (2018)
  • Be in Christ Church Canada (2018)
  • Community of Christ (2019)
  • Moravian Church in Canada (2020)
  • Baptist General Conference of Canada (2020)
  • Association of Christian Evangelical Ministries (2020)

Observer churches are not members of the Council but are recognized as being in agreement with the Basis of the Constitution. They are invited to participate in the work of the Council. In 2020, the Council had 8 observer churches. 

Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top
Share via
Copy link